Skip to content

Pitztal

Glossary

Pitztal

The roof of Tyrol

The Pitztal is a 40-kilometre-long southern side valley of the Inn River in the west of Tyrol. While the front part of the Pitztal with the municipalities of Wenns, Arzl and Jerzens has more of a low mountain character, the inner Pitztal with the municipality of St. Leonhard is characterised by steep mountain flanks and rugged peaks. Nestled between the Kaunergrat ridge in the west and the Geigenkamm ridge in the east, the Pitztal valley lies entirely in the Ötztal Alps. With more than 35 three-thousand-metre peaks and the Wildspitze, 3770 m, as the dominant elevation, the valley is considered the "roof of Tyrol".

Economy & Tourism

While the outer Pitztal with the communities of Arzl and Wenns has a mix of craft, trade and service businesses, Jerzens and St. Leonhard are strongly characterised by tourism.

Holidaymakers and locals alike will find the following in the three ski areas Pitztal Glacier, Rifflsee and Hochzeiger a wide range of leisure activities. With the opening of the Pitztal Glacier Ski Area in 1983, winter tourism in particular got going in the Pitztal. Numerous investments in accommodation facilities and an expansion of the tourism infrastructure were the result.

Besides alpine skiing, "soft tourism" is gaining more and more importance. Since 1998, the Kaunergrat Nature Park (Pitztal-Fließ-Kaunertal) and enjoys an increasing number of visitors every year.

Most beautiful ski tours Pitztal

The Pitztal has many great tours to offer for ski tourers. Guaranteed snow thanks to the altitude, a spectacular glacier landscape and relatively few crowds are reasons enough to come to the Pitztal for ski touring. Those looking for the most beautiful ski tours in the Pitztal are spoilt for choice:

Wildspitze, 3770m

The Ski tour on the Wildspitze is THE classic and one of the most beautiful high-altitude ski tours in the Eastern Alps. This is due on the one hand to the moderate ascent of 800 metres in altitude, which is feasible as a day tour thanks to the Pitztal glacier cable car. On the other hand, the ski tour to the Wildspitze is very varied. After an entertaining ascent over wide glacier areas, there is a breezy finale on the rocky ridge before the 2000-metre-long descent over the Taschachferner into the valley.

  • Ascent: 800 hm
  • Departure: 2000 Hm
  • Walking time: approx. 3 h
K2, 3253 m

The K2 in the Rifflsee area is one of the most popular ski tours in the rear Pitztal valley. Even though you have to have a bit of stamina for the approximately 1000 metres of ascent, you are finally rewarded at the summit with an impressive panorama all the way to the Wildspitze. After the Rifflsee cable car takes you up the first 600 metres of ascent, you soon leave the small skiing area and climb first over undulating terrain, then over the flat Löcherferner glacier to the ski depot. The last few metres are on foot to the summit. A few entertaining variations are possible on the descent.

  • Ascent: 1000 Hm
  • Departure: 1600 hm
  • Walking time: approx. 4-5 h
Left Fernerkogel, 3,277 m

The Linker Fernerkogel towers as a fantastic panoramic mountain high above the Mittelbergferner. With the glacier ski area as the starting point, the metres of ascent are reduced to a very bearable level. On the other hand, the descent over the northern flank and the hanging Ferner is enticing, usually with good snow conditions.

  • Ascent550 hm
  • Departure: 1600 hm
  • Walking time: approx. 3-4 h

Accommodation tips Pitztal

From the simple bed and breakfast to the four-star superior hotel. With almost 8000 guest beds, the Pitztal has something to offer for every taste.

Hotel Sonnblick ****

Family run hotel by the Rainer family in Plangeross. Especially the convenient location in direct proximity to the glacier cable car and the fantastic cuisine inspire in the house.

Plangeross 45, 6481 St. Leonhard im Pitztal

T +43 5413 86204
E hotel@sonnblick-pitztal.at
W www.sonnblick-pitztal.net

Organic Hotel Stillebach

As the only Organic hotel in the Pitztal the Biohotel Stillebach focuses on a 100% organically certified food and beverage offer. Sustainability is a top priority at the Biohotel. As a climate-neutral hotel and nature park designer, the Biohotel takes active measures to reduce its climate footprint and to further develop the habitat in the Pitztal in a sustainable way.

Stillebach 83, 6481 St. Leonhard in the Pitztal Valley

T +43 (0) 5413 87206
E info@stillebach.at
W www.stillebach.at

Hotel-Garni Romantika

For over 20 years, Erika and Albert Kirschner have run the Hotel-Garni Romantika in Piösmes, which is now classified with three stars. With Helena, the next generation is already waiting in the wings. Over the years, the Romantika has constantly improved its comfort and facilities, so that today nothing stands in the way of a carefree holiday experience. As part of the Pitztal's Clean Alpine Region initiative, the Romantika is committed to sustainability and climate protection and has taken active measures to reduce its carbon footprint per overnight stay.

Piösmes 202, 6481 St. Leonhard - Pitztal

T +43 5413 87371
E info@romantika-pitztal.at
W www.romantika-pitztal.at

Zum Inhalt springen

Pitztal

Glossar

Pitztal

Das Dach Tirols

Das Pitztal ist ein 40 Kilometer langes südliches Seitental des Inns im Westen von Tirol. Während der vordere Teil des Pitztals mit den Gemeinden Wenns, Arzl und Jerzens eher Mittelgebirgscharakter aufweist, ist das Innerpitztal mit der Gemeinde St. Leonhard geprägt von steilen Bergflanken und schroffen Gipfeln. Eingebettet zwischen dem Kaunergrat im Westen und dem Geigenkamm im Osten liegt das Pitztal vollständig in den Ötztaler Alpen. Mit mehr als 35 Dreitausendern und der Wildspitze, 3770 m, als dominierende Erhebung gilt das Tal als das „Dach Tirols“.

Wirtschaft & Tourismus

Während das äußere Pitztal mit den Gemeinden Arzl und Wenns einen Mix von Handwerks-, Handels- und Dienstleistungsbetrieben vorweisen kann, sind Jerzens und St. Leonhard stark touristisch geprägt.

Urlauber und Einheimische finden in den drei Skigebieten Pitztaler Gletscher, Rifflsee und Hochzeiger ein umfangreiches Freizeitangebot vor. Mit der Eröffnung des Pitztaler Gletscherskigebiets im Jahr 1983 kam insbesondere der Wintertourismus im Pitztal in Gang. Zahlreiche Investitionen in Beherbergungsbetriebe und ein Ausbau der touristischen Infrastruktur waren die Folge.

Neben dem alpinen Skilauf gewinnt der „sanfte Tourismus“ mehr und mehr an Bedeutung. Seit 1998 besteht der Naturpark Kaunergrat (Pitztal-Fließ-Kaunertal) und erfreut sich jährlich einer steigenden Zahl an Besucher*innen.

Schönste Skitouren Pitztal

Für Skitourengeher*innen hat das Pitztal zahlreiche tolle Touren zu bieten. Schneesicherheit dank der Höhenlage, eine spektakuläre Gletscherlandschaft und verhältnismäßig wenig Andrang sind Gründe genug, zum Skitourengehen ins Pitztal zu kommen. Wer die schönsten Skitouren im Pitztal sucht, hat die Qual der Wahl:

Wildspitze, 3770m

Die Skitour auf die Wildspitze ist DER Klassiker und gehört zu den schönsten Skihochtouren der Ostalpen. Dazu trägt zum einen der mit 800 Höhenmeter moderate Anstieg bei, welcher dank der Pitztaler Gletscherbahn als Tagestour machbar ist. Zum anderen ist die Skitour auf die Wildspitze sehr abwechslungsreich. Nach einem kurzweiligen Anstieg über weite Gletscherflächen folgt ein luftiges Finale am Felsgrat bevor es auf die rund 2000 Tiefenmeter lange Abfahrt über den Taschachferner ins Tal geht.

  • Aufstieg: 800 Hm
  • Abfahrt: 2000 Hm
  • Gehzeit: ca. 3 h
K2, 3253 m

Der K2 im Gebiet des Rifflsees gehört zu den beliebtesten Skitouren im hinteren Pitztal. Auch wenn man für die rund 1000 Höhenmeter Aufstieg etwas Ausdauer mitbringen muss, wird man am Gipfel schließlich mit einem beeindruckenden Panorama bis hin zur Wildspitze belohnt. Nachdem einem die Rifflseebahn die ersten 600 Höhenmeter Anstieg abnimmt, verlässt man bald darauf das kleine Skigebiet und steigt zuerst über kupiertes Gelände, dann über den flachen Löcherferner bis zum Skidepot. Die letzten Meter geht es zu Fuß auf den Gipfel. Auf der Abfahrt sind ein paar kurzweilige Varianten möglich.

  • Aufstieg: 1000 Hm
  • Abfahrt: 1600 Hm
  • Gehzeit: ca. 4-5 h
Linker Fernerkogel, 3.277 m

Der Linker Fernerkogel thront als fantastischer Aussichtsberg hoch über dem Mittelbergferner. Mit dem Gletscherskigebiet als Ausgangspunkt reduzieren sich die Aufstiegshöhenmeter auf ein sehr erträgliches Ausmaß. Dafür lockt die Abfahrt über die Nordflanke und den hängenden Ferner, die meist mit guten Schneeverhältnissen begeistert.

  • Aufstieg: 550 Hm
  • Abfahrt: 1600 Hm
  • Gehzeit: ca. 3-4 h

Unterkunftstipps Pitztal

Von der einfachen Frühstückspension bis hin zum Vier-Sterne-Superior-Hotel. Das Pitztal hat mit knapp 8000 Gästebetten für jeden Geschmack etwas zu bieten.

Hotel Sonnblick ****

Familiengeführtes Hotel von Familie Rainer in Plangeross. Besonders die günstige Lage in direkter Nähe zur Gletscherbahn und die fantastische Küche begeistern in dem Haus.

Plangeross 45, 6481 St. Leonhard im Pitztal

T +43 5413 86204
E hotel@sonnblick-pitztal.at
W www.sonnblick-pitztal.net

Biohotel Stillebach

Als einziges Biohotel im Pitztal setzt das Biohotel Stillebach auf ein 100% biologisch zertifiziertes Speisen- und Getränkeangebot. Nachhaltigkeit wird im Biohotel großgeschrieben. Als klimaneutrales Hotel und Naturparkgestalter ergreift das Biohotel aktive Maßnahmen, um den Klimafußabdruck zu reduzieren und den Lebensraum im Pitztal auf einen nachhaltige Art weiterzuentwickeln.

Stillebach 83, 6481 St. Leonhard im Pitztal

T +43 (0) 5413 87206
E info@stillebach.at
W www.stillebach.at

Hotel-Garni Romantika

Erika und Albert Kirschner führen seit über 20 Jahren das Hotel-Garni Romantika in Piösmes, das mittlerweile mit drei Sternen klassifiziert ist. Mit Helena steht die nächste Generation bereits in den Startlöchern. Im Romantika wurde über die Jahre stets der Komfort und die Ausstattung die verbessert, so dass heute einem unbeschwerten Urlaubserlebnis nichts im Wege steht. Im Rahmen der Clean Alpine Region-Initiative des Pitztals engagiert sich das Romantika in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz und hat aktive Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung des Co2-Fußabdrucks pro Übernachtung ergriffen.

Piösmes 202, 6481 St. Leonhard – Pitztal

T +43 5413 87371
E info@romantika-pitztal.at
W www.romantika-pitztal.at